Major reshuffle of prison chiefs

September 22, 2014


The Justice Ministry yesterday ordered a major reshuffle of the 23 chiefs of major prisons across the country on October 1.

Acting Justice Minister Charnchao Chaiyanukij signed the ministerial order for the reshuffle.

Sorasit Chongcharoen, chief of Bangkok Remand Prison, will become the head of Bang Kwang Central Prison, swapping roles with Ayut Sinthapapan.

There will also be a change of leadership at Min Buri Special Prison.

Prisons in the following provinces will also see leadership changes – Ubon Ratchathani, Nakhon Sawan, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Kalasin, Surin, Lop Buri, Ayutthaya, Phitsanulok, Chon Buri, Phrae, Kamphaeng Phet, Suphan Buri, Pathum Thani, Samut Sakhon, Ratchaburi, Suphan Buri, Phatthalung and Songkhla.

Meanwhile, Corrections Department director-general Witthaya Suriyawongse has signed an order to reshuffle five provincial prison chiefs.

Nassathi Thongpralard, the head of Chai Badan District Prison, has been named Nong Bua Lamphu provincial prison chief while Somsak Tiangtrakulthong, of Lang Suan District Prison, has been appointed Krabi provincial prison chief.

Prisons in Nan, Maha Sarakham and Uttaradit will also see changes.

Witthaya also appointed 47 acting district prison chiefs to replace the current prison bosses.

In another development, Interior Minister General Anupong Paochinda said the ministry would promote deputy provincial governors and deputy director-generals of departments to become governors in 18 provinces within 40 days. Four people will also be promoted to become inspectors.

The move follows the pending retirement of current officials retire at the end of the month and transfers in the previous reshuffle by the ministry.

Anupong started working at the Interior Ministry last Monday and the following day the proposed reshuffle of C10-level officials was presented for Cabinet to consider.

The Cabinet approved the transfers of 37 C-10 officials the same day. The moves affected Phirasak Hinmueangkao, who had been set to become director general of the Lands Department.

Phirasak has been appointed Nakhon Si Thammarat governor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *